10 regions+capitals+population+area+divisions of Cameroon


 10 regions, capitals,population,are, divisions and Tourist Attraction of Cameroon

10 regions+capitals+population+area+divisions in Cameroon

10 regions+capitals+population+area+divisions in Cameroon

They're ten regions and regional headquarters in Cameroon today. All with their diverse culture and tourist Attractions.

Cameroon, on the Gulf of Guinea, is a Central African country of varied terrain and wildlife. Its inland capital, Yaoundé, and its biggest city, the seaport Douala, are transit points to ecotourism sites as well as beach resorts like Kribi – near the Chutes de la Lobé waterfalls, which plunge directly into the sea – and Limbe, where the Limbe Wildlife Centre houses rescued primates. 

Cameroon Tourist Attractions ,Whether this is one of your first trips to Cameroon or not, there is no shortage of things to do and see in Cameroon. From history to art to culture to the outdoors, Cameroon attractions are plentiful. 

Comprehensive information on Cameroon’s tourist attractions, historic monuments, sightseeing tours, outdoor activities, cultural activities,beaches,waterfalls, details are listed below.

Today I will share with you all the ten regions in Cameroon including

Their capitals, population, Number of Divisions, area, and Tourist Attractions


{getToc} $title={Table of Contents}

Let's get started


Regional  capital : Ngaoundere

Population :681 362 inhabitants

Surface area 63 70 1km2

Number of Divisions: 5

Density: 10.7inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

Water catchment region of Cameroon, this Region is full of crater lakes, cattle ranches, underground minerals, wild animal species and several caves.


Regional capital: Yaoundé

Population: 2 272 259 inhabitants

Surface area :68 953 km2

Number of Divisions : 10

Density: 32.96 inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

Seat of the political capital of the country. So many interesting natural sites such as the caves of Akok-Bekoe, monuments of colonial figures such as Charles Atangana, the Chief of the Ewondos, and the forest reserve of Ottomo (Ngoumou).


Regional capital: Bertoua

Population: 711 651 inhabitants

Surface area:109 002 km2

Number of Divisions: 4

Density: 6.53 inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

Visitors can undertake to cross the vast forests that cover this Region. The visitor can easily get into camps set up for pygmies, enjoy the biodiversity in the Dja reserve and get a view of the Gbaya and Maka cultures.


Regional capital: Maroua

Population: 2 553 389 inhabitants

Surface area:34 263 km2

Number of Divisions: 6

Density: 74.52 inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

Apart from the numerous wild animals which make this Region a pleasurable destination for hunting, there is a wide variety of traditional rulers’ palaces, lunar landscape in Kapsiki, caves and lakes with a high concentration of hippopotamus, handicraft shops and horse displays. Three national parks in this Region namely;  the national park of Kalamaloué at Kousseri, the national park of Waza at Waza and the national park of Mozogo at Koza.


Regional capital: Douala

Population: 1 861 463 inhabitants

Surface area:20 248 km2

Number of Divisions: 4

Density: 91.93 inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

The ‘ngondo’ festival is deeply routed here, and other seaside pastimes abound as the indigenes of  this Region celebrate their intimate relation with water. The entry point into the country for most visitors and harbours a lot of historic monuments. Natural attractions such as the waterfalls of Ekom Kam, lake Ossa and large commercial plantations.


Regional capital: Garoua

Population: 1 145 038 inhabitants

Surface area:66 090 km2

Number of Divisions 4

Density: 17.33 inhabitants/km2

The visitor has a wide variety of options, ranging from national parks, hunting area, horse displays, traditional palaces to the attractions of the Benoué river with a dam at Lagdo and several archaeological sites where fossil remains of dinosaurs have been found. The national parks here include those of the Benoué, Boubandjida and Faro.


Regional capital: Bamenda

Population: 1 702 559 inhabitants

Surface area:17 300 km2

Number Divisions: 7

Density: 98.41 inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

Hilly  and mountainous Region with grass field landscape, the visitor here has a wide variety of traditional palaces, waterfalls, crater lakes, Afo Akom,handicraft shops and other cultural artefacts which make it a regular tourist destination.


Regional capital: Bafoussam

Population: 1 843 518 inhabitants

Surface area:13 892 km2

Number of Divisions: 8

Density: 132.7 inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

Mountainous Region with many traditional palaces, crater lakes and colourful funeral ceremonies (between the months of November and February every year), and the ‘ngoun’, a great annual festival of the Bamoum people.


Regional Capital: Ebolowa

Population: 514 336 inhabitants

Surface area:47 191 km2

Number of Divisions: 4

Density: 10.9 inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

Area with dense forests and small islets, visitors here can also enjoy the beaches along the coast and the Lobe waterfalls. There are also abundant reserves of sea food.


Regional capital: Buea

Population: 1 153 125 inhabitants

Surface area:25 410 km2

Number of Divisions: 6

Density: 45.38 inhabitants/km2

Tourist Attractions:

Home of the highest Mountain in the country and in Central and west West Africa, Mount Cameroon. The coastline here also has attractive beaches. Further inland, the Korup national park has a wide variety of rare animals and trees.


Some figures concerning the 10 might have changed due to time factor.  

Post a Comment


Post a Comment (0)